On Reading: Wanting To Be A More Deliberate And Active Reader

Standard

One of the things that I think I need to do again is take time away from social media and focus on my projects. Sometimes hanging out on Facebook and seeing how everyone is doing is fun, especially since I normally don’t get to see them a lot, but I do a lot of mindless reading while going through that kind of social media. I want to read deliberately to learn and grow as a person. Going through Angela Duckworth’s Grit reminds me a bit of Cal Newport’s Deep Work, enough that I read through some of my old notes a few days ago, and it’s inspiring me again to take up reading books for at least several hours a day as reading is a way to lead to a greater passion of mine: learning, and reading is my way of persevering that I would happily engage in. I’m already one-third of the way through Duckworth’s Grit, which I will be reviewing and posting up here, so that’s something to look forward to!

Having a plethora of physical books and ebooks (my Kindle Paperwhite is amazing!) means that I rarely am without anything to read. There’s a huge pile of to-read books in my home that I chip away at slowly. Many times, I’m also going borrowing online from my library, which is amazing as well. Participating in overdrive has changed my reading habits for the better. The variety of books available has allowed me to read on a broader spectrum of topics, and sampling many different topics opens me up to new worlds.

Another thing that I’d like to work on, and if anyone has any suggestions that they would like to share, is on how to be a more deliberate and active reader. What I mean by this is actively engaging with the text whether that be writing notes, highlighting, or even just taking moments in the book to stop and think about what I just read instead of continuing and doing my best to zoom through the book. I’m feeling like it’s time to revisit both How to Read a Book by Mortimer J. Adler and Charles Van Doren and the Well-Educated Mind by Susan Wise Brauer.

4 thoughts on “On Reading: Wanting To Be A More Deliberate And Active Reader

  1. Yes! Sometimes I wish I took notes of certain books I’ve read. You may not remember the book word for word but theres little Nuggets of wisdom that can be found in each one. I’d like to start be a more active reader thanks for the reminder =D

    Liked by 1 person

    • It feels great being able to look back at notes you’ve taken over the years and are able to see all the little sayings and whatnot that you’ve collected. You’re welcome, and thank you for commenting! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

