Film Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

Standard

I managed to avoid most of the spoilers as I waited these past few weeks until my SO and I had the time to go on a date to watch Guardians. I entered the theatre hyped and came out satisfied. Guardians didn’t fail me. I didn’t know what to expect in this sequel, but it was a fun ride.

~ Spoilers ahead! ~

The family-like rapport between the characters is still one of the greatest thing about Guardians. One of the major themes of Guardians is the emphasis on the choice of family. You chose who your family is. This is exemplified multiple times throughout the movie.

Here, Peter Quill is pitted against his biological father who murdered his mother so he wouldn’t feel a need to go back to earth a fourth time. I could get behind the idea that Ego did love his River Lily, but it wasn’t enough. Ego loved himself the most that he was willing to kill his loved ones and his flesh and blood to do what he believed was his perceived mission. Peter’s little spat with Gamora before she stormed off about family emphasized the part that blood isn’t all there is to a family alongside Drax’s remarks on family as well. However, I think the shining moment on the choice of family was the relationship between Peter and Yondu, especially once Peter realized how much Yondu kept from him while believing that he only kept him around was because Peter could fit into smaller spaces and was a good thief.

Wow, Yondu. Yes, wow, Yondu. I didn’t expect to be rooting for him throughout the entire second movie. I cried when he died to save Peter, and I also cried when half of his crew first died. Especially when his second-in-command died. For those of you who noticed that was Chibs from Sons of Anarchy and how he did his best to remain loyal to Yondu till the end, I think it made the scene greater if you knew the reference since it also can infer just how awesome of a captain Yondu really was. Yondu had great scenes throughout the movie. Not only did he have a father role with Peter, he developed somewhat of a mentor role to Rocket as they bonded over their similarities. I’d say that Yondu made this film that much better because he was just as much of a driving force for helping the film along (which makes Groot and Rocket’s welcoming him to the Guardians of the Galaxy that much more bittersweet). The contrast between him and Ego as the father figure of Peter was well done. Yondu’s statement near the end of his life summed it up well: “Hey may have been your father, Quill, but he wasn’t your daddy.” Guess who was his daddy? That’s right, folks. Yondu was Peter’s daddy. Kraglin and Peter’s happiness at Yondu receiving a Ravager’s funeral was awesome too – it had the feeling of two sons celebrating the life of their fatherly figure by the figures that their father had respected and cared for. In addition, the Mary Poppins moment between Peter and Yondu was also sweet.

Peter Quill: You look like Mary Poppins.

Yondu: Is he cool?

Peter Quill: Hell yeah, he’s cool.

Yondu: I’m Mary Poppins, y’all!

In the end, Peter realized that Yondu did give him the childhood that he wanted, just with different activities, but the feelings behind them were the same. The quick flashbacks that Peter has includes a brief glimpse of Peter as a boy being taught by Yondu to shoot an arrow, I believe it was. It was rather quick, but having caught a glimpse of it melted my heart. Yondu was definitely my favorite throughout this movie; Rocket and Groot were second and third, respectively.

Groot, as always, is one of the most adorable things in Guardians. I giggled at some of his temper tantrums. He truly is adorable. I was furious when those filthy things were torturing him. The casualness of Yondu, Rocket, and Groot getting out of their troubled situation once Yondu got his weapon was badass. The streak of Yondu’s red arrow shooting across the screen to kill the traitors emphasized that Yondu wasn’t weak; he just knew when to do the right thing. I did enjoy Yondu, Rocket, Groot, and Kraglin’s adventures while everyone else was on Ego’s planet.

The character development was on point this film. I’d argue that maybe a few jokes less would’ve made it greater, but I did laugh a lot while watching the movie inasmuch as I felt I could get away with without bothering people. I knew watching Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 would mean having a good time, and it certainly was. I cried a few times throughout the film; the film had a good balance of its comedic and tragic moments. Overall, I’d rate it a 90/100. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 is a solid film that has its shining moments that brings great joy to its viewers.

Leave a Reply

