On Reading: A Passion Close To My Heart + Meditation

Standard

As a child, I loved physical activity. You could find me trying to climb things from trying to figure out how to climb my home’s walls and to figuring out how to climb onto my roof. That all changed when my illnesses began to worsen during my adolescence. When I became unable to run without my ankles becoming swollen and painful after a few minutes of continuous running, I knew my body couldn’t quite keep up anymore, or at least on par with my classmates for sure. Eventually, things became too painful, and much like now, I was bedridden but much more bitter about it at the time. It’s been a little over a decade since then.

Once I had realized that I’d be limited physically, I strove to find something else to focus on. This is where reading came in. I started to read to sink myself into different worlds and into different lives, exploring places and meeting people through my books. George R.R. Martin wrote, “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” This became my life starting from my adolescence. It was also around the time that I became interested in history and archaeology, and I would often be found reading material on Ancient Egypt or other archaeological discoveries. Reading for pleasure and study has been a part of my life from a young age, and now, doing my best to start cultivating it (as I do believe that reading is a skill that needs constant exercising to read at a consistent, high level rate) as an autodidact now that I’m no longer in school is something that I place a heavy importance on. Reading as a passion is an integral part of me. Reading can be expensive or inexpensive depending on the route you go on (buying your own books or using resources to read for free such as libraries), but it’s so worth to take the time to sit down and read a book. There’s so much to learn, and reading is one of the ways to learn more.

I’m blessed to have the time and opportunity to do what I want, and I hope to do my best to continue to show gratitude for it. I’ve been meditating these past few days to help clear my mind and calm myself down, and I hope that meditation will help me improve myself so that I may open up my mind to the blessings of the world and the blessings of my loved ones. Between reading and meditation, I hope to expand myself in my passion and improve myself.

Leave a Reply

