Structure: Using A Weekly Planner To Build Discipline and Productivity

Standard

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” ― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

I used two free printable weekly calendar today to capture what I did. I did it on a note-taking box structure weekly planner printable and on a time management weekly planner printable with increments of half an hour that starts at 7am and ends 11pm. I find that it helps me feel more productive (or not) as I track what I’ve done during the day, especially using the time management weekly planner printable. I hope that as I track more of what I do during the day, I start being more conscious of the use of my time to do the things that I want to do. Using these printables also gets rid of the anxiety I feel about perhaps not filling up a journal – say if I invested in a bullet journal (which failed epically the last time I tried a BuJo – I stopped within a month and a half!). That’s always been a problem for me. But now that it’s only a few pieces of paper at a time, I feel it’s more doable and the lack of anxiety makes me feel like I’m capable of being more productive. At any rate, it’s nice to see what I get up to during the day. It’s less of planning at the moment, and rather a matter of tracking what I’ve already done. It’s to develop being conscientious of the use of my time so that once I build the habit of doing and for longer periods of time, things will hopefully naturally fall into place to where I begin achieving more of my goals.

Most of the problem stems from my lack of discipline in doing things, which I hope that once I get a decent look at what I do typically, I can work towards getting what I believe to be productive things done rather than mindlessly go through articles or stories, reading but not really absorbing. I really want to discipline myself to read more fiction, nonfiction, dedicate more time to language studying, and still get the housework done and not overwhelm myself with everything plus dealing with my illnesses. I just have to work at chipping at it little by little until I finally cross that milestone. For now, I need to form positive habits in order to reach my goals, and I’ll get there little by little! Patience is a key to all of this as well. I can’t expect it to happen overnight, and I must continuously strive to improve myself each and every time, even and especially when I fail.


Printable Sources:

Free Printable Planner Forms, Calendars, and Checklists from OrganizedHome.com. <http://organizedhome.com&gt;.

Student Handouts, Inc. <http://www.studenthandouts.com>.

Leave a Reply

