My Language Learning Journey: German (Log: 02)

Standard

Whenever I have the smallest inclination to research whatever interests me at that moment, and I have the time, I rarely hesitate to look things up and get lost in the information for a while. One of my teachers in high school once announced to the class something along the lines of: “If you have questions, google them.” Lately, I have been looking up resources for language learning even though I have enough to at least satisfy the requirements of my personal language learning journey for the next several months without needing to look up another single resource.

A few days ago, I came across the Rosetta Stone answer keys and workbooks online. They have pdfs on their site for free for English, French, German, Latin, and Spanish. Considering that the answer key also comes with the student workbook for homeschool, I think it’s fine to use separately from RS’s audio for the most part. The structure reminds me of the structure of my old Spanish workbook that I used when I took Spanish in university (which I came out at A1-A2 at best). I’ve tried out a few of the German lessons (level 1, of course) of the RS supplemental education material and will plan to eventually get through the workbook as I continue my German language learning journey. So far so good as far as I can tell. I can get the gist of the directions through reading it and looking at the examples.

In addition, I’ve done language learning before in attempting to learn Japanese and Spanish, but neither worked out because I eventually lost interest, especially when I took them in university. I find an university’s language learning structure doesn’t work for me because my goals for learning a language is geared towards reading and writing rather than listening or speaking, and an university’s language learning is geared towards all four plus the vocabulary isn’t geared towards the things that I want to read or write about.

Lastly, I’ve started up doing Duolingo through the desktop for German, which is nice because there is some grammar points they put up that nicely introduces the concepts. I’ll be studying it more in depth later with my grammar book, but to get a little introduction by Duolingo that’s reinforced by basic structures to help home in the concepts is great. Now that I’m using Duolingo more; however, Memrise has been shown a little less attention, but it’s still my main app for vocabulary building. I can recognize and recall a good portion of the root words that I’ve been learning when I’m reading German posts on Reddit or the Bible, etc, which is more than I could do last month when I was first began really putting in the effort. Considering that I normally try to learn 50-100 words of vocabulary a week with constant review, I think I’m finally getting somewhere – so far I’d estimate that I know about 100 words easily. However, I need to start learning the grammar side of things soon. Either way, I’m happy that I’m progressing! It truly does motivate me to continue my language learning journey.

4 thoughts on “My Language Learning Journey: German (Log: 02)

  1. Hi, lightingales,
    Sounds like you are doing really well with your language ! Well done!
    I’m interested in seeing how Memrise goes for you with Spanish.
    I’m teacher of Spanish to British ex-patriates in Spain, and need to recommend some on-line material. There’s so much out there to choose from!
    Regards. Marie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi marieryan,

      First off, thank you! Also, although I did take Spanish in university, I am no longer learning Spanish. I am using Memrise to learn German.

      Have you heard of Anki? Memrise is similar to it with both being flashcard apps utilizing the SRS strategy. I think it’s great for rote memorization, especially for vocabulary, which is what I mainly use it for (and something I think helps me memorize easier) but it needs to be accompanied by other materials to explain grammar, culture, etc. It’s gamified much like Duolingo if your students would like that. I do not use it for Spanish, only German, but I do like it so far. There’s a paid version of Memrise, but you can get by fine with just the free version. There’s many pre-made different courses to choose from (although, from what I heard, Anki allows you to create your own deck of flashcards), so you’ll probably have to vet the course first, but it’s something you could look into for your students.

      I also recommend that you check out . There’s a ton of online resources you can look at here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

