My Language Learning Journey: German (Log: 05)

Standard

I’m slowly getting through the German I Pimsleur thanks to my library’s overdrive. It’s actually quite fun to listen to while doing the dishes. I try to repeat when I can, but sometimes I’m hearing it but my tongue gets tied, but I move on. I’m kind of treating Pimsleur like I would a slow class in the sense that I have no choice but to move on even if I don’t completely understand the first time around. However, the repetition helps but sometimes the pronunciation is so different that it, as it seems to me, registers to me differently than English and then it’s hard for me to say and understand what’s being said due to a lack of understanding without a written aid to help me.

Throughout all my language learning thus far, I’ve come to realize that having written aids accompanying the audio is best. Sometimes even the pure writing supplements are better than the audio and visual combination ones, but for the most part, a combination of audio and visual is best for the language to really get home into my head. Although, the audio and visual doesn’t have to be simultaneous learning, but it’s important to learn both. I prefer using my Essential German Grammar book alongside using SRS apps like Memrise to help me with vocabulary. I also use the Rosetta Stone supplementary German workbook with the answer key to use as practice (1). I’m still only on level 1, but I hope to be finished with it by the end of the year if I study diligently, but we’ll see how it goes. Knowing me with my ADHD mind, it’ll probably be a whole year from now or longer, which, hopefully, it doesn’t come to that. But language learning is a lifetime activity, so there’s no rush in the end. Plus, having the answer key accompanying it is a godsend. I rarely get perfects but I get a lot right, and so far it’s simple enough that I can understand the errors that I’m making after a while, especially since I don’t actually have the accompanying audio with the Rosetta Stone supplementary education material. Moreover, The Essential German Grammar is broken down into little sections that I can go through each time I’m studying that helps to know if I’m done for the day or if it’s possible to do one more after a small break – it’s nice. Duolingo and Pimsleur are fun, but I don’t think they help nearly as much as others. If there are any particular beginners German text and workbook for independent learners that you’d like to recommend, please do so in the comments!

I’ve also recently spent a lot of time reading language learning posts on blogs or subreddits. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one struggling at times, but despite that, many continue on to learning the language they want regardless. I mostly like to go on Reddit to read on language learning, and I was thinking of getting into Tumblr too, but haven’t really looked into it yet.

Lastly, I doubt I’ll ever move to Germany. I might not even visit. Moreover, I don’t get out much nor do I really want to, so I don’t know any German speakers. Speaking German is not a priority for me, but knowing pronunciation or having an inkling of how it sounds is important, which is why I listen to German songs on YouTube or go through the Pimsleur course, however slow I’m trudging through it via during chore time. I’ve also watched a few episodes of BoJack Horseman in German on Netflix, which is something that I should continue doing so but haven’t gotten around to it. In the end, reading German is my priority; it’s the focus and reason why I want to learn German in the first place.

 

(1) You can find the link to the resources for the Rosetta Stone in the middle of my Log: 02. The supplemental education materials are only available in English (American or British), French, German, Latin, and Spanish (Latin America). Each have up to different levels.

Leave a Reply

